Skip to content
⚡️⚡️ MODE Ultimate OBD & MHD Universal V2 OBD Adapter IN STOCK!!! ⚡️⚡️
⚡️⚡️ MODE Ultimate OBD & MHD Universal V2 OBD Adapter IN STOCK!!! ⚡️⚡️
MODE Podium Finish Bathurst 2022 | MODE x CMA / Carr Motorsport BMW M3 F80

MODE Podium Finish Bathurst 2022 | MODE x CMA / Carr Motorsport BMW M3 F80

MODE Podium Finish Bathurst 2022 | MODE x CMA / Carr Motorsport BMW M3 F80

Brad Carr and Tim Slade lead the 2022 Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour in the MODE x Car Mods Australia BMW F80 M3, but the pair had a battle on their hands with the CHE Racing Team M2 Competition.

In the end 63-entries took to the start of the sixth Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour led by the BMW M4 of Karl Begg, David Russell and Nash Morris from pole.

Strong in numbers, BMW has had mixed fortunes in the race so far as high profile teams including the pole-sitting Begg Motorsport (BTuned) M4 as well as the Anthony Soole, Adam Burgess (Advan Performance) and Anton De Pasquale example went into limp mode during the first hour.

Following a monumental charge, the CHE Racing Team BMW M2 Competition driven by Tom Sargent was in contention after climbing more than 50 positions and in all 62 when he took the lead later in the second hour.

A previous leader of the event, the Ellery family BMW M4 shared by Steve, plus sons Dalton and Tristan dropped out of the event as the second hour concluded, with the CHE Racing Team M2 entering the third in the lead.

Further retirements hit A1 where the Mercedes AMG A45 spearheaded by Will Brown stopped with diff problems, the Lachlan Gibbons Lancer Evo X experienced mechanical failure and the Mitsubishi of Cameron Crick/Dean Campbell dropped out too.

The fourth safety car came out and the Slade MODE x CMA M3 was able to take the lead after pitting earlier than the CHE Racing Team M2.

But in the lead remained Sargent/Hill by 12s from Slade/Carr after a drive through for the latter for a pit procedure infringement.

The team raced their way into the top five well before their first of six pit stops and then led a chunk of the running throughout the race – one that would ultimately run 130 laps, the second most of all time.

Late race strategy handed the lead to the #8 Car Mods Australia BMW driven by Slade and Bradley Carr heading into the race’s final 45 minutes, with the pair 50-seconds ahead of the Hill / Sargent BMW.

However, a late Safety Car and a call to put two new right-side MRF Tyres on the chasing car Hill / Sargent car proved the difference.

Rattling off a series of new 6-hour lap records, Hill Scythed Slade’s 10-second lead following the Safety Car to zero following the restart before the pair engaged in a Bathurst battle for the ages.

Despite the chasing car enjoying a tyre advantage, Slade defended valiantly for several laps as the race closed to the final 20 minutes.

It took a massive move at Brock’s Skyline for Hill to eventually pass Slade, the pair coming off the hill side-by-side before the former finally wrestled the lead away from the latter.

The race finished in that order: Hill powering home to claim a remarkable victory from 61st on the grid in a race anchored by Sargent’s remarkable drive through the field in the opening stages.

It is thought to be the furthest back any Bathurst endurance race winner has started to claim one of the Bathurst majors in the circuit’s 84-year history.

Despite losing the lead within the final half hour of the race, Slade and Carr finished second to complete an impressive comeback performance after being denied a victory twelve months ago.

Shane Smollen, Rob Rubis and Nick Percat finished third, successfully backing up their 2021 victory with a strong podium finish this year.

Percat powered the car home, surviving several close calls in his closing stints to grab the final step on the podium and complete a second BMW 1-2-3 sweep of the trophies.

There was late heartbreak for the Drew, Aaren and Wayne Russ. ell BMW, who were within sight of a top three finish before their car ran out of fuel prior to their final stop – coasting into the lane and dropping a lap to ultimately finish fifth.

The Steven, Dalton and Tristan Ellery BMW ran strongly early before losing two laps and finishing sixth, while seventh went the way of the Ben and Michael Kavich Yellow / Race for a Cure BMW M2.


Pos Car Class Class Pos Sponsor Drivers Car Laps Time Fastest Lap Fastest Lap Time
1 147 X 1 Tegra Australia T.Sargent/C.Hill BMW M2 Competition 130 06:00:50.6259 115 2:24.7482
2 8 X 2 Car Mods Australia B.Carr/T.Slade BMW M3 130 06:00:58.0910 113 2:27.1715
3 1 X 3 Prestige Connex S.Smollen/R.Rubis/N.Percat BMW M4 130 06:01:13.6242 116 2:26.7308
4 45 A1 1 RAM / GWR M.Sheargold/D.O’Keeffe Mercedes AMG 130 06:02:44.2964 23 2:30.6385
5 58 X 4 Go Karts Go W.Russell/D.Russell/A.Russell BMW M3 129 06:01:22.9077 106 2:27.2160
6 99 X 5 Bruce Lynton BM Service S.Ellery/T.Ellery/D.Ellery BMW M3 128 06:01:50.3026 126 2:29.5897
7 92 X 6 YELLOW PAGES Race For A Cure B.Kavich/M.Kavich BMW M2 Competition 128 06:02:52.4990 115 2:32.2423
Next article Don't let this happen to your S55 M2 M3 M4

Leave a comment

Comments must be approved before appearing

* Required fields